Cunard's Footsteps in Tallinn Excursion

In this video, Cunard Line invites guests to explore Tallinn in-depth, on an escorted walking tour.

Unlike many other European cities, we know bafflingly little of Tallinn's early history. In 1154 what is now Tallinn was first marked on a map by an Arab cartographer, however the first reliable account of Tallinn's history comes from The Chronicle of Latvian Henrik, wherein Henrik describes the landing of the Danish fleet, led by King Valdemar II, in June of 1219. The Danes quickly snapped up Tallinn as their own and built a large fortress on Toompea Hill. The name 'Tallinn' is actually derived from the Estonian words 'taani linnus,' meaning 'Danish castle.'

Medieval Tallinn was one of the best-fortified cities in Europe. The town wall was contructed in the 14th century with 66 defense towers adorning it (today only 20 remain). The major boom in town construction (resulting in most of the fine medieval facades that visitors will still see there today) hit Tallinn in the 15th century; however most of the significant places of worship were built in the 13th century, including Niguliste Church (1230), Oleviste Church (first mentioned in 1267) and St. Catherine's convent (begun in the 1240s).

Cunard Line is best known for its exemplary British hospitality.  In elegant style reminiscent of the Golden Age of Cruising, guests aboard a Cunard cruise are sure to enjoy a luxurious voyage.

 

See video

Travel Ideas